The DesignEuropa Awards 2023 took place on 5 September 2023 in the spectacular Axica Convention Center in Berlin.

FICPI was invited to join the prizegiving event and Uwe Borchert, Treasurer General, represented FICPI at this meeting.

Many sister Organisations were present and also supported this event.

The DesignEuropa Awards have become a firm fixture on the international industrial design calendar.

The fourth awards ceremony took place on 5 September in Berlin, in collaboration with the German Federal Ministry of Justice and the German Patent and Trade Mark Office.

Previous editions of the DesignEuropa Awards have taken place in Milan (Italy), Warsaw (Poland) and Eindhoven (the Netherlands). The Lifetime Achievement Award was also presented to André Ricard, designer of the Olympic torch of Barcelona 1992, Giorgetto Giugiaro, known for his iconic car designs, and Hartmut Esslinger, who is behind the designs that have characterised the Apple brand. See the winners of the previous editions.

Two exceptional designs were honoured this year in the fourth edition of the DesignEuropa Awards held at the spectacular Axica Convention Center in Berlin.

RemigoOne, the electric outboard motor created by Slovenian designer Ajda Bertok and engineered in line with marine innovation and sustainability principles, has won the Small and Emerging Companies Award.

The Industry Award went to the Full Automatic Espresso Coffee Machine, designed by Vittorio Bertazzoni, Matteo Bazzicalupo and Raffaella Mangiarotti for Smeg. This compact machine allows for the professional preparation of coffee in a simple and intuitive way.

During the Awards ceremony, the Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Swedish designer Maria Benktzon. A pioneer of inclusive and ergonomic design and the first woman to receive this award, Benktzon has dedicated her career to helping others through design, in collaboration with Sven-Eric Juhlin. Many will remember her best for the non-drip coffee pot she created for SAS, which has been used in over 30 airlines worldwide, with more than 500 000 copies produced.

The Executive Director of the EUIPO, Christian Archambeau, declared:
The DesignEuropa Awards showcase European creativity, innovation and ingenuity at its best. Design is at the heart of Europe and we have two excellent winners who demonstrate the power of design. Europe’s designers and the design industry, including SMEs, contribute to economic, social, cultural and environmental development. Our Lifetime Achievement winner, Maria Benktzon, is a champion of innovative and inclusive design for everyday objects, and her inspiring creations have been featured in some of the world’s largest museums."

Next steps

Keep an eye out for the next DesignEuropa Awards submission deadline for 2025 and send promising nominations of your clients to the jury. Your clients will thank you.

Learn more about the Awards at:

EUIPO DesignEuropa Awards 2023


EUIPO DesignEuropa Awards 2023
Previous Post
WIPO IGC Diplomatic Conference